Smarties

What do you first think of when you read that title? The chocolates? The lovely sugar covered colourful pebbles of chocolate joy? I think I probably
would. I love ’em.

But actually I’m talking about the Clever. The Brainy. The people who ‘just get it’.  The ‘Smart’ ones. It’s because I like to think about things and this is one thing that surrounds me every week at
school.

People are thought of as ‘being clever’ if they get a good test result, or answer a hard question in class, and I’m not denying that some people are naturally smart, but quite often people have to work hard to achieve. They may try and pull it off as a mild success of their brain, but quite often they’ve studied. And worked hard, to get their grade.

I have nothing against people who achieve well and put in hours of extra study- in fact, I think it’s a great idea and one I should use more often! I do, however, think that if you have put a lot of work into something you shouldn’t deny it; that’s lying and is unfair on others who may give up trying also to succeed (if they think you just do it naturally. Obviously some people are geniusand can do amazing things.) Say you’ve put hard work into it and you’ll still get compliments on your achievements.

This is a bit different to how I started, talking about how to say if someone is clever or not. And I’ve decided it doesn’t really matter. The thing that matters if the work you put in, being conscientious and doing the right thing. Whatever result you get will be the result of our efforts. Try your hardest and help to motivate yourself and others.

If you have exams coming up prepare. Try reading textbooks in free time, think of them as reading books and relax. It may help the info to stick a bit firmer… Try mindmaps. Practise questions. Many different exam tips to help you become the best you can be. Don’t blame your teacher for not teaching you right.  So think, am I doing my best? And if you’re not, try harder, just to make yourself happy.

If at first you don’t succeed, try and try and try again.

image

2 thoughts on “Smarties

Leave a Reply

